How #45 has made me a more mindful Citizen and overall a better person

Leave a comment

Each morning lately, I roll over in bed, kiss my man “good morning” and ask him “I wonder what I going on in “Politico?! (my name for the Political soap opera of late, I am aware that Politico is a news outlet as well)”  I literally salivate over the prospect of tuning on some CNN or Morning Joe almost as much as I do my first sips of morning coffee.  I look over at my phone to inevitably glimpse at the shocking CNN headline alerts that have gathered in my slumber.  It truly seems unending.  Like, it can’t really keep going on like this, right?

Regardless, it is safe to say that my political/historical repertoire prior to the Election of #45 was slim, to say the least.  Basically, it depended on the lyrics of We Didn’t Start the Fire (Joel, 1989). Birth control, Ho Chi Minh, Richard Nixon back again, Moonshot, Woodstock, Watergate, punk rock.  Right?! In all seriousness though, anyone else’s elementary/middle school teacher play this song for you?  Turns out it is a popular one; Scott had a similar experience.

Anyway, the point is that before the latest “political shenanigans,” I think I sort of buried my head in the sand a bit.  And I don’t think it was a good thing.  I think that in times where I felt comfortable with the leadership in place, I tend to unplug a bit from the political scene (media, etc.).  For instance during the Obama administration, I hardly EVER watched “Politico.”  I just trusted that all was well (according my my beliefs), periodically glazed over some headlines, but generally just assumed all was” well.”

As I completed my daily 6 miler on the treadmill yesterday, I was riveted by Comey’s testimony regarding Russian ties/meddling in our Democratic Process and the unsupported claims by #45 that his predecessor had his “wires tapped.”  My morning run entertainment used to be Wendy Williams (don’t judge…) and has now been replaced by “Politico.”  So, what does this mean for me?  While our political current situation seems somewhat dismal, I am heartened by my newfound sense of citizenship and civic responsibility.  I am even more heartened by seeing this trend infiltrating my peers and many many other around me. And this makes me proud. And hopeful. 

Leave a comment